My (dirty) PC gaming rig. What’s in your build?

People love to talk about the specs on their PC gaming rig, myself included!  Sorry in advance for dirty case!

IMG_6634

Case: Corsair Crystal 570X – Tempered glass looks nice until it gets dusty.  It would also be super worrisome if I were lugging it around to a LAN party.  I love everything else about it.  Great air-flow and the included fans are quiet.  I don’t care much for the RBG so I found a nice boring neutral white to leave on.

Motherboard: ASRock x370 Taichi – Overclocking looks to be very simple with this motherboard.  I don’t need to push any hardware yet but I am confident it will handle more speed down the road.

CPU: AMD Ryzen 1800x – This seems like a bit overkill for someone that just games.  Everything sure runs snappy though!  I am running a cheap aftermarket air cooler from Deepcool with no issues.  Currently not overclocking because there is really no need at this point.

RAM: Corsair Vengeance LPX 3000mhz – 16GB of this stuff does the trick.  No issues, but also not overclocking.

GPU: MSI Radeon Vega 56 – I snatched one of these as an upgrade from an older 290x.  It runs everything at ultra/high settings on 1440p with 60+ fps.  That was my goal when I got it, and it delivers.

Storage: Western Digital M.2 SSDs – I am running two of these drives.  They seemed like a good value choice.  Windows definitely loads fast and all the applications are instantaneous.

PSU: Corsair CX750m – It handles my Vega card and hasn’t caught on fire, so I consider this one solid.

Monitor: HP Omen 32″ – This is my primary monitor for gaming.  It is huge, almost too huge for something that sits a couple feet in front of your face.  I picked this monitor because it has a slightly higher refresh rate (75hz), 1440p and Freesync for my AMD video card.  It is a great value with all those features.

Mouse & Keyboard: Logitech G710+ and Logitech G502 – I’ve tried Razor and other brands but I always go back to Logitech.  Their products last.

Headset: HyperX Cloud Revolver – I splurged a bit on this set because I use primarily use headphones over speakers.  I like the features and the quality.  The one downside for me is that because they are a built more heavy-duty than some of the other Cloud models, they do feel a bit heavier.  This can wear on you during long gaming sessions.

PC_Gaming_Custom

 

Overall I have been very pleased with the AMD performance even though it goes against the typical Intel/Nvidia grain.  This system should be good to go for several years.  The only item I would consider upcoming in the semi near future would be another monitor that has a higher refresh rate (I heard that is all the rage right now).  Let me know if you have any thoughts or suggestions!

*As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.

Leave a comment